Banning a visitor from chatting

Banning a visitor from chatting

If a particular visitor is harassing or otherwise causing a nuisance for your chat team, you can ban them from seeing and using Breadstack Live Chat on your website.

Be aware that visitor bans take effect immediately: the chat window will close and the chat widget will disappear from the visitor's view. 

You will no longer be able to see the visitor's activity in Service > Visitors.

The ban will stay in effect until the visitor is unbanned.

To ban a visitor, you must have picked up the chat by sending at least one message. Once you've done this, you'll see several icons appear at the top of the chat window.
  1. At the upper right corner of the chat window, click on the ... icon and select Ban this Visitor.

  2. In the popup, provide a short explanation for the ban, then click Ban & End Chat.
You'll see a popup confirming that the ban has taken effect. To double-check, go to Service > Visitors and open the Banned Visitor List at the top right corner of the screen.

On their end, the customer will see a message simply stating that the chat connection has been lost.

You can unban a visitor at any time.